Views of Windows Vista

11 06 2007

Personally I believe there are many reasons Vista will not see wide adoption in the workplace except as forced by OEM hardware purchases. I see many businesses opting for XP on new desktops when given the option, much as many chose this option when XP came on the scene. Money is of course a big consideration but employee satisfaction is gaining importance to employers.

Despite all the claims that Vista is unstable, lacks good driver support and forces unnecessarily harsh restrictions on media playback via DRM, I have more basic reasons for disliking Vista.

  1. I strongly object to any software forcing me into “Candy mode” by default. I use Windows to get things done – period. I don’t care about alpha transparency, fancy Start menu’s or cool effects, they just add to OS bloat and consume valuable memory and processor resources. As with XP, I find “Classic Mode” is the way to go.
  2. Why does MS insist on completely changing how and where things get done in the OS every time they upgrade the OS? Anyone that understands basic human behavior knows people, in general, resist change. I strongly dislike the new “Personalize” desktop arrangement that splits the display options into separate areas. I also don’t understand why Add Remove programs isn’t in the Control Panel’s Classic view anymore. Speaking of change – seen Office 2007? Ouch!!!

What makes sense to me is to create an OS with Split personalities. Make it easy to switch from “Work mode” to “Play Mode” with the single press of a button (shortcut). This can be done using Profiles but that’s prior to the OS loading and changing themes requires too many steps. Windows Vista does look cool though!

Actions

Information

One response

19 01 2008
I agree

Yeah, Vista Sucks!

Leave a Reply

